How exactly to set the parameter for different springs for an oscillation experiment?

Boileddog
Thread moved from the technical forums to the schoolwork forums
For my academic research project, I am studying the oscillatory of magnets attached to extension springs. And to have variety of data on different types of oscillation, I'll be using different spring constants as a variable. But in order to get the springs I need to know the dimensions of the specific springs. Therefore, what are the 10 different spring constants that I should have for ascendingly varying oscillations of spring for a load of around 40 grams?

Physics news on Phys.org
Boileddog said:
For my academic research project, I am studying the oscillatory of magnets attached to extension springs.
Please be more specific. What exactly is the "oscillatory of magnets attached to extension springs"? Are you talking about the frequency of oscillations in vertical spring-mass systems? If so, why use magnets and not plain weights? What are you going to measure? In projects of this kind, one asks a question and then designs a procedure to answer it. What question, specifically, are you asking?

Likes MatinSAR

1. How do I determine the appropriate spring constant for my oscillation experiment?

To determine the spring constant of a spring, you can use Hooke's Law, which states that the force exerted by a spring is directly proportional to the displacement of the spring from its equilibrium position. You can measure the force applied to the spring at different displacements and use this data to calculate the spring constant.

2. What factors should I consider when selecting different springs for my experiment?