How fast would a computer do this?

• Thread starter disregardthat
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Computer
In summary: The computer can handle this quite easily. However, the more functions you have to calculate at all times, the slower the computer will be. If you want to speed up the process, you can try to use a software that can do the calculations for you, or you could try to find a faster computer.
disregardthat
Science Advisor
Hi, I have little experience with computer and programming (just a little on my calc) and I wonder how fast a computer really is. Would it be a problem for a computer to "graph", that will say calculate several expression frequently for different inputs at once?

I have about 40 expressions kind of like this:

[tex]f(x)=([A_1x+B_1+C_1sin(D_1(x-E_1)]^2+[A_2x+B_2+C_2sin(D_2(x-E_2)]^2)^{\frac{1}{2}}[/tex]

[tex]A_k,B_k,C_k[/tex] and [tex]D_k[/tex] are constants.

And if a computer were to graph these at all times, how well would it handle it?

I know of course that the speed depends on the frequency of the calculations, but I want it fairly high, much higher than the calculator graph the curves.

Technology news on Phys.org
Depends on the optimization of the program, processor speed, background processes, amount of RAM...

Probably the speed of a well written computer program will make your calculator look like a snail compared to it :smile: To get more specific information, you should be more clear about where the data come from, how you want to plot it, which program you have in mind, etc.

PS I just did a little test: in a very ugly hack-like first approximation, it takes me about 5 seconds to plot 40 of them with random [itex]A_k, B_k, C_k, D_k[/itex] simultaneously (and plotting consecutively makes it about 5x faster).

Thanks for the replies.

I have as previously said very little experience with programming.

But I am trying to make this: