How important are publications for grad schol acceptance?

In summary, it's hard to tell from a publication what the student actually did. It's possible (although a little unlikely) that the student did all of the work, but more likely you have the situation that the student did something reasonable and the lead investigator thought it was a good idea to add the students name to the author list. The committee is interested in knowing what the student did which is where recommendation letters come in.
DrManhattanVB
I was wondering this today. has it almost become necessary to have publications to get into grad school? I was talking to a grad student today who got denied by state schools with a 3.5 or 3.6 GPA, and no publications. I have plenty of research experience but as of yet have no publications. will this be a hinderance on my future applications to grad schools?

Physics news on Phys.org
Remember, you're competing against other people, you're not competing against some set standard. It depends on where you're applying. You can certainly get into grad schools with no publications and a GPA of 3.5. It just depends where. Stanford? No. Some not so well known school in the midwest? Maybe/probably. They higher you're shooting, the more likely you'll be competing against students with more and more publications.

As far as I'm concerned, anything you publish as an undergrad isn't going to be worth the paper it's written on, so don't worry about it. Publications begin in grad school, not before it. And if a grad school wants publications as a requirement for acceptance, I would cross them off my list. There are thousands of other grad schools out there.