How to study when you feel down?

• Thread starter elephanttalk
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Study
In summary, the conversation discusses a university student's struggle with depression, OCD, and low self-esteem while trying to study. Suggestions are made to seek help from a professional and to set achievable goals to improve self-esteem. The idea of studying for the sake of learning rather than focusing on grades is also mentioned. The conversation also touches on the topic of medication and the possibility of joining a study group for support. One participant shares their admiration for the unconventional problem-solving approaches of physicist Richard Feynman.
elephanttalk
Hi guys, long time lurker of physics forum here. Some time ago I read a thread about how to study when you have depression, or something along those lines, so I figured I should ask for similar advice.

I'm a university student in summer school. I also have OCD and an incredibly low self esteem/self worth. Whenever I open my books, I think to myself, "I'm always going to be an idiot, so why try?" And when I do focus long enough, nothing seems to work. I tried going soft on myself, I tried going rough, I tried taking more OCD meds than I should've, but nothing works.

I'd just like some advice on how to actually produce results, that's all. I have a lot of reading to do. Should I just skim it, and when I'm feeling better, go into detail?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
First, I think you should talk to someone with training in handling psychiatric matters. It sounds like you are taking medication, which means that you are at least in some contact with someone who can facilitate that sort of help. You should start there.