How to use Kleppner and Kolenkow and how to employ problem solving?

In summary: The second time was in the junior level classical mechanics course. That course was a bit unusual because the first half was a standard course in Lagrangian and Hamiltonian mechanics, but the second half was a special topics course in celestial mechanics. I don't know if any of the faculty besides the prof who taught it had much interest in the subject. I think I was the only student in the class of 6 who took it because I was interested in it. IIRC, there wasn't even a textbook for the second half. I just borrowed books from the library. So, I don't know if that counts as a third time.When I was an undergrad, it was two times. Both Taylor and K&K were required
warhammer
I am an undergrad in Physics and got acquainted with the aforementioned book.

I want to know how the other PF Members have used the book as such, and do they have some advice for me on the same.

I am also inclined to know how does one solve the problems of K&K whose concept may be straightforward & understandable yet the problem solving method to "attack" the question doesn't click. For instance, extensive usage of constraint equations gets a bit tricky even if one understands the underlying concept behind the problem. This is just an instance, and I dearly wish to know the PoVs of fellow members!

Physics news on Phys.org
I would make sure that analytical geometry and results pertaining to similar triangles, congruent triangles, congruent angles are understood.

Trig: law of sines, cosines, and other topics found in a standard trigonometry class.

Single variable, and multi-Variable calculus.

If a problem is too hard, try rereading the relevant section(s). Also, maybe adding your own constraints to make the problem easier, then generalizing it as you go, in order to solve the given problem.