I have a few questions about Warp drives? I am a layman.

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of warp drives and their feasibility. It touches on topics such as the warp shield, energy requirements, and the credibility of papers on the subject. Ultimately, it is suggested to read and discuss valid papers on the topic for a more informed discussion.
rgtr
TL;DR Summary
I have a few questions about Warp drives? I am a layman.
I watching this video and have a few questionsIs the warp shield the bending of space in the warp drive?

In a warp drive in order to speed you need a to feed in energy.

If you do not feed energy would the speed just be the speed of the ship?what is the warp shield made of? I mean is it man made or created by nature?Is the smaller the bubble the faster you go? How does this relate to Lentz's paper and my question?

Does Lentz's and Alcubierre's paper have the 3 criteria that Bobrick and Martire require to create the warpdrive?In Lentz's paper can the warp shield be created by nature or is it man made? In Lentz's and Alcubierre's papers can you accelerate faster then light?By shrinking the passenger area do you need less energy to go faster?

Physics news on Phys.org
I am sorry to say there are no trustworthy papers supporting warp drives.

But what about lentz's work?

rgtr said:
I watching this video
Videos are generally not good sources if you want to actually learn the physics. I would recommend picking some of the papers published on the subject (which you evidently are aware of since you refer to them in your post), reading them, and framing questions based on what you read. That will be a much better basis for PF discussion.

For example:

rgtr said:
what about lentz's work?
If you are interested in it, then read it, and pose questions here (in a new thread, since this one is going to be closed, as you will see shortly in a follow-up post from me) based on what you read.

anuttarasammyak said: