• I
  • Thread starter OlarFin
  • Start date
  • Tags
    3d geometry
OlarFin
TL;DR Summary
Need help creating a curved piece of wood for a project
When I was a freshman in college I never thought I'd use geometry...
BUT I WAS WRONG!
I purchased a laser engraving/cutting machine and my designs keep getting more complex. I have come to the end of what I can figure out or find on the web.

I am making a jewelry box for my wife that has a curved section that warps about 30 degrees as it curves. I need to calculate the arcs in 2 dimensions so that I can wrap the piece of wood to fit. In the first attachment is a photo of a piece of paper I manually tried to copy what the piece would look like.
Work In Progress.png

Attached is:
1: Diagrams and images.
2: A more specific diagram that I hope shows what I'm trying to do.
(Please excuse the incorrect terms it's been 35 years since I last looked at this stuff - I'm flying by the seat of my pants.)

Any help is very appreciated!

Attachments

• I Need Help 1.png
    I Need Help 1.png
    18.7 KB · Views: 21
  • Diagrams and photos.png
    Diagrams and photos.png
    51.4 KB · Views: 17
Mathematics news on Phys.org
OlarFin said:
In the first attachment is a photo of a piece of paper I manually tried to copy what the piece would look like.
Cutting a piece of paper out as a template is the way to go. Doesn't that work for you? Can't you replicate in wood the same shape as the paper template?

It seems to me that the piece you're asking about should look something like this:
Untitled.png

The curved parts are portions of circles or ellipses. Since the box is made from wood, it will need to be thin enough that you can steam it so as to be able to fit it into place.

BTW, in your thread title you mention a "curved plane." By definition, a plate is a flat surface.

Last edited:
Mark44 said: