Inner product of functions of continuous variable

In summary, the book says that infinite orthogonal basis of infinite dimensions can be used to represent functions of continous variable. My question is, is it okay to assume this?
Ibraheem
I am new to quantum mechanics and I have recently been reading Shankar's book. It was all good until I reached the idea of representing functions of continouis variable as kets for example |f(x)>. The book just scraped off the definition of inner product in the discrete space case and refined it as an integral:

For example, f(x) and g(x) defined on [0,L] where both functions evaluate to zero at the end points. The inner product is
##<f(x)|g(x)> =\int_{0}^{L} f(x)g(x)dx ##
The book says that these functions are represented by infinite orthogonal basis of infinite dimensions. My question, is it okay to assume that these functions can be represented by the following infinite dimensional matrices ?
##|f(x)> \longrightarrow \begin{bmatrix} f(0) \\ f(x_1) \\.\\f(x_{k} ) \\.\\.\\ f(L)\end{bmatrix}## and ##|g(x)> \longrightarrow \begin{bmatrix} g(0) \\ g(x_1) \\.\\g(x_{k}) \\.\\.\\ g(L)\end{bmatrix}##
so that in terms of infinite basis kets:
##|f(x)>=f(0)|0> + f(x_1)|x_1>...f(x_{k})|x_{k}>+...f(L)|L>##
##|g(x)>=g(0)|0> + g(x_1)|x_1>...g(x_{k})|x_{k}>+...g(L)|L>##
so from this (which I am not sure if it is right) can we write the integral as
##<f(x)|g(x)> =\int_{0}^{L} f(x)g(x)dx##
##=(f(0)<0| + f(x_1)<x_1|...f(x_{k})<x_{k}|+...f(L)<L|)*((g(0)|0> + g(x_1)|x_1>...g(x_{k})|x_{k}>+...g(L)|L>)##
since the basis are orthogonal I am assuming it is possible to express the above as
##= (g(0)f(0)<0|0> + g(x_1)f(x_1)<x_1|x_1>...f(x_{k})g(x_k)<x_k|x_k>+...f(L)g(L)<L|L>)##
The question is, is it possible to assume that ##x_k=0+ k*dx## where k is the integer 2.3.4... and loosely expressing the integral above as
##<f(x)|g(x)> =\int_{0}^{L} f(x)g(x)dx = f(0)g(0)dx+f(dx)g(dx)dx+...f(x_k)g(x_k)(dx)...+f(L)g(L)dx##
which I think imply that