Internship in nuclear engineering for a foreign student

In summary, the conversation discusses a French student in nuclear engineering seeking an internship in an English-speaking country. The student has a strong academic background and is interested in companies like Areva and NextEra Energy. However, due to the competitive job market and the requirement for security clearance, it may be difficult for the student to secure an internship or job in the United States. The conversation ends with suggestions for specific companies to apply to and well wishes for the student's search.
Tommy.E
Hi !

I am a French student in nuclear engineering, I will complete my master degree next year and between February 2013 and July (or August) 2013 I will have to do an internship to practise all I have learnt.
I will have studied nuclear technology, reactor physics, thermal hydraulics (simple and two phase), safety and reliability of systems, neutronics, materials, computer simulation and knowledges in marketing, management, financial management.

I am looking for an internship in an English-speaking country such as USA, UK or Canada. I have visited lot of company's website and I always need to have the right to work in the country to apply. But to have the right to work, I need a job.
I have also seen that the majority of the offers are for co-op or college internship, or even for bachelor's degree.

French higher education is really different and I wish to know if it is possible to do that kind of internship and how I can do it. If you have some advice, it would be fantastic !

Tommy

Engineering news on Phys.org