Introductionairy() chemistry problem, SO4

• Thread starter Fishingaxe
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Chemistry
In summary, Sonny was struggling with a chemistry course and found help from this forum. He has forgotten some of the formulas for the elements, and was helped by Borek and Steamking to remember them.
Fishingaxe

Homework Statement

Ok, I recently started studying again after a 1.5 year break to pursue other things. I am trying to plow through this chemistry course, and I remember this forum where I basically got through my entire physics course because of the help of this forum which I greatly appreciate.

Ok, this is very simple but I have a hard time understanding this. Why does sulphate have 4 oxygens and -2 charge. I have a series of questions in my course, and among it, it said to write the formula for Aluminium chloride for example, which I understand is AlCl3 since Al has +3 charge and Cl has -1 so there has to be 3 of Cl to even things out, right? But this problem with writing sodium sulphate has me confused. I see that Sulfur and Oxygen is combined to make sulphur, but why on Earth does it have to be 4 oxygens and 1 Sulfur? In my mind both needs 2e- to be happy, so why can't they just share it? If one atom of Sulfur shares with 1 atom of Oxygen, wouldn't they be happy? They could share one electron each and be content?

Do I just have to learn in my head that sulphate has the formula So42-? Likewise nitrate has NO3?

I am sorry, I am just massively confused by this.

Regards

Sonny

PS: If this is not worthy to be a thread I apologize, and if it is in the wrong place, please remove.

Physics news on Phys.org
Fishingaxe said:

Homework Statement

Ok, I recently started studying again after a 1.5 year break to pursue other things. I am trying to plow through this chemistry course, and I remember this forum where I basically got through my entire physics course because of the help of this forum which I greatly appreciate.