Is it addition or xor in AES mix column?

In summary, the conversation discusses the confusion between using XOR and arithmetic addition in the AES algorithm. The use of XOR and arithmetic addition in binary and hexadecimal forms is explained, along with examples of each operation. A mistake in the conversion from binary to hexadecimal is also pointed out.
shivajikobardan
Homework Statement
XOR or normal hexa addition in AES?
Relevant Equations
None
https://www.networkdls.com//Articles/AESbyExample.pdf

I'm confused because there are lots of XOR in this case. And I am not very technically aware when we'd XOR vs when we'd add. I just follow the guidelines given in standards. But here I got confused in page 9 of that pdf. When we do B7+4B, is it normal hex addition or XOR? Because both are giving same results. I tried for some of my other examples, and they were giving same results. I think it's normal hex addition, but I'm not 100% sure about that.

I was studying the below book and thus. It is not saying that's wrong, but it uses lots of XOR. So, it got me confused.

https://books.google.com.np/books?i...nepage&q=advanced encryption standard&f=false

Physics news on Phys.org
PS another question:
1661484760188.png

I'm getting the result as E3 using my networkdls pdf method. Can you check the results?

shivajikobardan said:
When we do B7+4B, is it normal hex addition or XOR? Because both are giving same results.
⊕ is a binary EXOR operation.
+ is a binary OR operation.
Those operations can be executed on wide bit-streams in parallel.

+ is also an arithmetic addition operation on a registers of bits.
There is no arithmetic addition of data in the DES algorithm.