Is it possible to use the vacuum to launch a rocket?

In summary, it is possible to provide the initial thrust for a rocket using a huge vacuum cylinder, but the feasibility and practicality of such a method depends on many factors and must be evaluated using numbers and specific criteria.
Peanut Butter Space
Hey I'm new to Physics. I have a question. Is it possible to use the force generated when air entera a vacuum tube to launch something into space? Can anybody throw some light on this in simple words please. Thank You.

Likes OmCheeto
Physics news on Phys.org
:welcome:

You have to start thinking about the kinds of forces or energies, and the magnitude (size) of those forces or energies.

Yes, if you have a cylinder with a vacuum and a piston, air pressure will push the piston in. You can use that to generate power, and you can use the power to do useful things including lifting them.

But to get something into space? It depends on the size of the vacuum cylinder and the size (mass) of the object, and the starting place. For example, NASA has a Pegasus rocket that it launched from an airplane flying as high as it can. That takes much less energy than launching it from the ground. All those things determine the magnitude and your question does not specify those things. It takes a certain amount of energy to lauch a certain object, but it doesn't matter where the energy came from.

On Physics Forums, the better the quality of the question you ask, the better the quality of the answer.

anorlunda said:
:welcome:

You have to start thinking about the kinds of forces or energies, and the magnitude (size) of those forces or energies.

Yes, if you have a cylinder with a vacuum and a piston, air pressure will push the piston in. You can use that to generate power, and you can use the power to do useful things including lifting them.