John's Puzzling Question: Why Frequency is Responsible for Photoelectric Effect?

In summary, the first light can start the photoelectric effect because it has a minimum frequency, while the second light can't because it has an intensity that is 1/3 of the first light's frequency.
jaumzaum
Hi, I'm studying quantum theory now and one thing I couldn't understand is why the frequency (and not the intensity) is the only respon sible for starting the photo eletric effect?

I didn't understand this expression

E total = E0 + E kinetic

E0 = work functio n

[]'s
John

Physics news on Phys.org

The idea is, a process that can knock an electron out is a quantum process (indeed, this was Einstein's Nobel prize-winning discovery that it is a quantum process), so requires a quantum of light to make it happen. It can't happen a little at a time, like sliding a boulder, it has to be all or nothing, like throwing a ball through a window. So if the photon does not have enough energy (> E0), then no electron comes off at all, regardless of intensity (how many photons).

Also note the logic originally went the other way-- not why it had to work that way because it was a quantum process, but that because it did work that way, it must be a quantum process.

The equation is : Ekmax = hf - w

The respective letters represent the following energies :
Ekmax = Max kinetic energy of an electron
Hf = Energy of a photon
W - work function of the emitting surface/metal /atom

Now the conditions required to eject an electron are the following:
Incoming photon must have energy greater than the work function.
Threshold frequency is the when the incoming photon ejects electron with minimum momentum /Ekmax. This occurs when : Ek max = hf -w , since ekmax = 0 , we end up with hf = w.
Now if the incoming photon has energy less than the work function then no electron is ejected.