LaTeX vs MS Word: Which is Right for Your Paper?

• LaTeX
  • Thread starter maurom
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Latex
In summary, the PhD student is writing a paper with a senior author who wants him to convert everything to Word. He is unhappy with this and has come up with a solution involving converting the LaTeX to rtf, then to docx, then sending it for review, and correcting it in LaTeX before sending it for final approval. The only problem is that his advisor wants him to use Word instead.
maurom
Hi everybody,

I've got an issue, and I would like your opinion. I'm a PhD student writing a paper, I'm the first author, I've got the idea, I've done (lets say) the 90% of the labour. The method section has a lot of formula, and I'm happy to write it in LaTeX using the templates from the editor of the journal. My boss (which is senior author) doesn't know how to use LaTeX and loves Word, she has to review it, so she asked to forget LaTeX, convert everything in Word, and keep using Word: she said she is the senior author and so she pick which format to use (even if she is not writing it, just reviewing). To me it's a nightmare writing it in Word, especially the formula.
Do you have any clue about how I should deal with this situation?

cheers!
Mauro

Physics news on Phys.org
Ah, latex vs word - that argument (and jokes and ribbing) go on in every meeting I attend about papers...

Anyway, I have a possible solution for you: just have your advisor review the PDF.

And if that fails, the new Acrobat X version has an improved conversion to word feature that might be very useful. So, you latex up your document, concert it to PDF, then use Acrobat to convert it to Word. Warning - the conversions are not always perfect. But it should save you some time I think.