Learning Java and C++ for Job Opportunities

In summary: Java is good to find job, but is c++ that bad ??It depends on the local market. I've been offered several jobs based on my C programming experience, without knowing Java.
Domenico94
Hi everyone... I'm a communication system engineering student and in my university we use studying Java. Now, for this summer, when I ll have free time, I was thinking about doing some practice with programming and maybe studying a new language, such C++( it s still a widesprrad language and I think Id like the freedom it gives you) . The problem I want to ask is, is it convenient( in terms of job opportunities), to learn java and c++ or only doing good java programming would be enough?? Are there many entry level jobs out there as java may have, or given it s a though language, employers will just require you more experience?
P.s.I d like to work in the field od medical imaging in the future, where c++ is very used too, although I need experience working with other companies before.

Physics news on Phys.org
Your employment potential is much greater with C++ and Java than Java alone.

Likes Domenico94
Dr. Courtney said:
Your employment potential is much greater with C++ and Java than Java alone.
And with the job experience instead? Is it there much difference with the experience required to get, say, a c++ position, rather than a Java one?

That depends on where you are and on the specific job you are applying for.

Companies weigh education, experience, and programming skills differently in their hiring processes.

You need to convince them that you can really program. Code samples and detailed descriptions of completed projects is most convincing.

Likes Domenico94
Dr. Courtney said:
That depends on where you are and on the specific job you are applying for.

Companies weigh education, experience, and programming skills differently in their hiring processes.