Learning Math: Best Practices for New Grad Students

• MHB
  • Thread starter E01
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Mathematics
In summary, new mathematics students should try to take one class's homework, and then continue cycling through their courses.
E01
I'm a new first year graduate student and I've decided that my way of learning mathematics may not be the most efficient. I often memorize proofs in the book in the hopes that I'll be able to see where to apply the techniques used in the problems(I often understand the logic of a proof but won't remember the techniques at all if I don't try to rote memorize them). I seem to have to go through this process to get started on the exercises otherwise I won't know what to try and do.

I'll try to refine this question more later but I guess I'm asking:
For those who have done fairly well in Mathematics, what processes do you go through while learning new mathematics? Do you work a lot of simple examples? Do you mainly work through exercises? Do you play with the theorems and proofs in the book to see what happens given different hypotheses? Do you have to memorize things actively to be able to remember them for use later? If you could give me concrete "best practice" tips I would greatly appreciate it.

Physics news on Phys.org
The best advice I ever got in grad school was this: don't work on the homework that's due next, until it's finished, and then move on to the next one. In grad school, the homework is 5000 times harder than undergraduate. Sheer quantity of time is not going to help you. Instead, do this:

1. Take one class's homework, and give it a good go. If you get into a groove, and you're knocking the problems out, stick with it! But if, as is most likely, you eventually hit a brick wall (no progress at all for, say, 10-20 minutes), then stop.

2. Move on to the next class's homework. Repeat Step 1.

3. Continue cycling through your courses, constantly.