Lifting an elephant with hydraulics

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of using Pascal's principle to create a hypothetical hydraulic system that would allow a person's weight to lift an elephant. After some calculations, it is determined that the person would need to exert a 100:1 force ratio in order to lift the elephant, and this could be achieved through a platform and piston system. The conversation also touches on the conservation of energy and practical considerations for such a system.
fando1234
Hey guys, I'm a super amateur at physics, but I occasionally like to calculate random problems that pop into my head.

Today I was thinking about pascal and hydraulics, and wondered if I could devise a (hypothetical) hydraulic system that would allow my weight to lift an elephant.

I want to see if this is correct... or way off...

I figured I could use Pascals idea that the ratio of Area (in) / Area (out) would be equal to Force (in) / Force (out)Total back of a napkin calculation but... I researched an elephants weight to be 6000kg (or 60,000 N) - African elephant of course...

My weights about 80 kg (800 N)

The rough area of the platform an elephant could fit on is 3m x 2m (6m^2)

Feeding this into my equation I got that I would need my side of the piston to be about 0.08 m^2 for my weight to equal the elephants.

Could this be achieved by having a platform I stand on (that is the same area as my feet together) which is then attached to a 0.08m^2 piston... or does it not work that way... Also, if anyone can explain why this whole thing works on a deeper level - like conservation laws and all that, I'd be really curious, as I find this whole system really counter intuitive.

Thanks guys!

Physics news on Phys.org