Lightspeed Wavelengths: Exploring the Standard and Variations of Light Waves

In summary: So any measurement of the speed of light over a short distance would be very sensitive to the precise wavelength of the light being measured.
Questioner...
Hello there, I am new to the sight and am curious to know if light has a standard wave length? And that maybe different spectrum's of light could possibly have different wave length- thus creating multiple speeds of light?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
The speed of light in a vacuum is independent of wavelength.

How would one make a model of that?

Questioner... said:
How would one make a model of that?
What do you mean?

How can one go about proving that?

My theory could proven wrong with a simple test, the sun- a standard would be my base unit of speed. I would focus a beam sunlight through a simple hole in a piece of paper and see where the shadow has cast. I would then proceed to cover the whole in the paper and use some sort of timer to depict the speed in which it takes the light to travel from the hole in the paper to the ground.

Now using this same model we can find out how fast a beam of Sunlight travels from point A: This piece of paper casting the shadow, to point B: the shadow on the ground.
I believe also we could find are exact angle to the sun? I am not sure though,

Please forgive me if you think it is a radical or stupid Idea, I am new to the subject of physics but I carry an open mind.

Questioner... said:

See the FAQ on the experimental basis of special relativity, in particular section 3.4, "Measurements of the Speed of Light, and Other Limits on it," which has a subsection "Limits on Velocity Variations with Frequency."

Questioner... said:
It can be derived from Maxwell's equations and properties of free space (which do not depend on wavelength). But the real "proof" is experimental, as jtbell indicated.