Literature Review- Aluminium Ring

In summary, the speaker is a university student seeking help with their literature review for their individual project. They are specifically looking for information on why a ring is more effective than a square cutout in measuring strain. They have looked into Proving Rings but have not found an answer there. They also mention a setup with a hollow ring and strain gauges attached to measure strain. They are wondering if there is any literature that discusses how the geometry of the ring affects the accuracy and effectiveness of strain measurement.
Sharadram1989
Hi there,

I'm a university student and am stuck regarding a literature review for my individual project.

I was given a schematic sketch of the setup of my experiment that showed a force acting on a hollow ring, and a strain gauges attached on the ring measured strain for the set force.

I was wanting to know/find out as to why a ring is more effective than, eg. a square cutout, in measuring strain?

I tried looking for information on Proving Rings, but not found any answer there.

Main question is that is there any book/journal that highlights how the geometry affects the accuracy and/or effectiveness of strain measurement?

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm not sure I understand the set up but..

Is this "ring" being stretched like the link in a chain? If so then using a rectangular link rather than a eliptical link would concentrate the forces in the corners. eg you couldn't test it close to breaking strain because it would fail in the sharp corners before there was significant strain in the sides where the guages are. Something like that anyway.

Yes, that is what I thought as well, the stress and strain concentrations will be highest at the edges if a square/rectangular link was used rather than elliptical or circular ring.

I have attached a diagram to illustrate the setup. The "ring" is basically going to be pulled via rod that it is connected to.