Local flat space and the Riemann tensor

In summary: Typically, problems involving manifolds are solved by first working in simpler flat space and then figuring out how curvature impacts things.
nigelscott
Can somebody explain in layman's terms the connection between local flat space (tangent planes) on a manifold and the Riemann tensor.

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't think laymen know the terms you're using. What is your background? E.g., are you a university sophomore majoring in physics, ...?

No, just a person with an interest in this area. I studied solid state physics (QM) in college many years ago and like to keep my mind active by thinking about this stuff.

My understanding is that if I pick a point on a manifold that in the limit can be considered as being flat, I can use cartesian coordinates. If I uses cartesion coordinates the derivative of the metric tensor is 0 and covariant derivative become the ordinary derivative. So doesn't this imply that the Riemann tensor is not defined at that point? What am I not understanding?

If you want to visualize the tangent plane, you can visualize it as what it says: a plane that is tangent to the manifold. That means you can't visualize it as a small region of the manifold itself. The tangent plane isn't curved, it's flat, so you can't measure curvature within it.

nigelscott said:
My understanding is that if I pick a point on a manifold that in the limit can be considered as being flat, I can use cartesian coordinates.
To talk about curvature, you need more than a point, you need a neighborhood around the point. This is the same as in freshman calculus. If I tell you that the function f passes through the origin, that doesn't help you to calculate its curvature (second derivative) at the origin.