Looking for a good non-Pearson book on beginning algebra

In summary, the individual is looking for a basic algebra book to supplement their self-study of precalc and high school algebra. They have found a few potential options, including Gelfand and Shen's Algebra, Axler's Algebra, and Miller, O'Neill, and Hyde's Beginning and Intermediate Algebra. They also mention Euler's Elements of Algebra as a potential resource. Another individual recommends Paul Foerster's and Brown and Dolciani's textbooks on algebra, but there have been complaints about Miller's book in terms of errors and the lack of critical thinking and understanding.
UsableThought
A little background first: As my https://www.physicsforums.com/members/usablethought.611113/ explains, I'm a retired writer/editor, never good at math as a kid but always fascinated by physics, who has decided to take a long, slow, pleasurable road toward learning the necessary math to get to at least high school-level physics. My approach is self-study supplemented whatever good MOOCs I can find (I just completed a great one in entry-level logic & proofs, from Stanford's Kevin Devlin); ALEKS, which I just learned about yesterday; and (maybe) auditing courses at my local state university once I turn 60, which happens in April.