Looking for information on nuclear control systems

In summary, a nuclear control system is a set of devices and procedures used to regulate and monitor the operation of a nuclear power plant. It uses physical components and computer software to control fuel flow, maintain safe temperature and pressure, and monitor radiation levels. The main components include control rods, pumps, valves, and sensors. These systems are tested and maintained regularly to ensure safe and efficient operation, with safety measures such as redundant systems and strict regulations in place to prevent accidents.
jbs87
I am a MaSc student in electrical engineering. In my undergraduate degree I focused on controls and now want to do a thesis on implementing controls other than PID in reactors. I am looking for a good source of information on controls systems in nuclear plants and the modelling and simulation of plants. Any info will be much appreciated

Engineering news on Phys.org
Most details are proprietary.

Perhaps one can peruse the DCDs at the NRC. Most modern plants use digitial instrumentation and control. There are numerous setpoints on core power/power distribution, temperature, primary system pressure, etc, which if a threshold is exceeded will trigger the control rod drive systems. In PWRs, the magnetic suspension systems are de-energized, and the control rods drop into the core. In BWRs, the control rods/blades are inserted hydraulicly from beneath the core.