Magnetic field and logarithmics

In summary, Dale provides an example of a logarithmic correlation between two quantities. The professor wants the students to build a RL circuit and measure the field near the inductor.
GeertTimmerman
Hello everyone!

I'm in my first year of my bachelor in physics and astrophysics at Leiden University, The Netherlands. We have to perform a small experiment were we use a transducer to measure a logarithmic correlation between two certain quantities. As an example our prof. said you could measure light intensity as a function of time with a photodetector. Every group has a different transducer. Me and my partner have to work with a magnetic field detector (GMR), but the problem is that we cannot think of a quantity that has a logarithmic relation to the magnetic field. I did some research, but I couldn't find anything that matches our needs (we only have four hours to do the experiment itself, we have more time for the analysis of the data)

Does anyone of you have any suggestions?

thanks alot!

PS I am new to this forum but I already love it!

Physics news on Phys.org
GeertTimmerman said:
We have to perform a small experiment were we use a transducer to measure a logarithmic correlation between two certain quantities.
Do both quantities have to change logarithmically or is it ok if one changes linearly and the other changes logarithmically?

@Dale It is ok if one changes linearly and the other logarithmically. The most important thing is that it is easy and fast to perform (in less than 4 hours). The main point for this experiment is that we learn how to analyse data sets (plotting, fitting and such) and how to document our experiences during the experiment, not the experiment itself (i.e. it does not have to be groundbreaking