Math MS and Physics BS Careers

In summary: It is up to the individual student to develop the skills that could marketable to potential employers.A physics major is a flexible enough degree that any student can take, say, CS courses, statistics courses, writing courses, accounting courses, etc., that would make him/her that much more marketable, the same as a math major.You and the OP had the opportunity to do this when you were pursuing your degrees -- the fact that neither of you took advantage of this are YOUR problems, rather than the departments.
Caezec
Hello. With an M.S. in Pure Mathematics and a B.S. in physics, what careers are available to me if I am not accepted into a PhD program in math? I have no experience in finance or statistics, and I loathe programming.

Last edited:
Likes atyy
Physics news on Phys.org
Did you complete your MS recently? Or will you be completing it soon? If so, you might consider seeing what other recent graduates of your program have done. What one person has done, another can imitate. You might also look and see if any of your professors have relationships with potential employers.

Likes atyy
To the OP:

If you are still in the process of finishing your MS program, then I would suggest taking further courses in statistics if at all possible, as that would open possible employment possibilities. One other possibility would be to work on writing your actuarial exams, and consider pursuing an internship with consulting or insurance firms.

You said you loathe programming -- do you hate all programming, or only in working in software development? Because without at least being able to program, you've just about excluded yourself from a lot of jobs that those with a mathematical background can pursue. If you do decide to go into statistics, you will still need to do some programming.