Mathematics, Creativity, and Anxiety

In summary: Am I correct in thinking I may not be cut out for mathematics and computer science due to a lack of creativity?In summary, a university sophomore pursuing a degree in computer science is considering a concurrent degree in mathematics, but has recently been questioning their mathematical ability. They have always been passionate about mathematics and enjoyed proofs, but have struggled with creativity and problem solving in competitions. This has led to anxiety about their ability to succeed in upper division mathematics and computer science courses, and has caused them to question if they are cut out for these degrees. However, they have been reassured by others that being able to think through problems and having a passion for mathematics are more important than creativity. They are seeking advice from
Dschumanji
I am currently a university sophomore pursuing a degree in computer science. During the 2010 fall semester, my linear algebra professor approached me after class and suggested that I consider getting a concurrent degree in mathematics. I have always been very passionate about mathematics and have always thought I was decent at it due to excellent grades, so I am (or was) seriously considering getting that concurrent degree.

I have done some research on the upper division mathematics courses and found out most of it revolves around proofs rather than problem solving. I absolutely love proofs; I was never satisfied with theorems in my calculus courses unless a proof was provided. The proofs I had to present in my lower division linear algebra course were fairly easy and seemed pretty straight forward in my opinion. My professor commented that they were always "lucid." All of this increased my confidence in my mathematical ability. Recently, though, I have been questioning that ability.