Matrices of Linear Transformations .... Example 2.6.4 - McInerney

In summary: Tv]_{B'}$.This is how we get the matrix for $T$ relative to the basis $B'$.In summary, the conversation is about constructing linear transformations and finding their matrix representations. Specifically, they are discussing an example involving constructing a linear transformation using matrix multiplication and solving for the values of the transformation on basis vectors. The conversation also mentions the use of row operations and Gaussian elimination in finding the matrix representation. The book by Andrew McInerney is referenced as a source for further explanation and clarification.
Math Amateur
Gold Member
MHB
I am reading Andrew McInerney's book: First Steps in Differential Geometry: Riemannian, Contact, Symplectic ...

I am currently focussed on Chapter 2: Linear Algebra Essentials ... and in particular I am studying Section 2.6 Constructing Linear Transformations ...

I need help with a basic aspect of Example 2.6.4 ...

Example 2.6.4 reads as follows:https://www.physicsforums.com/attachments/5259
View attachment 5260I do not follow the method outlined for finding the matrix representation of the linear transformation T involved ... ... that is, I do not follow the setting up of the matrix for ... and the solving of ... the system for the values of \(\displaystyle T(e_1), T(e_2)\) and \(\displaystyle T(e_3)\) ... I do not follow any of this process including setting up of the matrix for Gaussian elimination ... I am confused regarding the whole process ... I understand the basics of employing row operations to reduce a matrix to echelon form and then read of a solution to n equations in n unknowns ( or at least I thought I did ... ... :confused: ... ... ) but cannot seem to follow what McInerney is doing ...

Can someone carefully explain the process here ... what exactly is going on ...

Hope someone can help ...