May I use (is it safe) a 30 year old soldering iron?

In summary: However, I am not an expert on the issue and I am sure there are good and bad arguments on both sides.In summary, the DDR soldering iron is from East Germany, came with a dark cream and a white "thingy" and is safe to use if it was stored in a cool and dry place. It is best to get a new bit for occasional use.
trickybilly
I am very new to electronics and only use it as a hobby. My father bought the soldering iron, but never used it. Manufactured in East Germany (DDR). It came with some kind of a "dark cream" and a white thingy - I do not know what are those for. I have started to look at videos on Youtube "how to solder". Is it safe to plug this in after 30 years? It was stored in our garage in a cool and dry place.Additional info:
On the package it says: "Delta Lit-Box"
On the iron it says: TYP623, 220V, 60W and a sign in a circle that has two parts (an "I" on the left and a "T" on the right which is rotated 90 degrees towards the "I"
On the dark creme box it says "Universal Lötfett" Typ SW13 , IV-14-14
Regarding 220V - I live in Europe - we have 220V

293boma.jpg
293boma.jpg
[/IMG]

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
If your Dad used it safely at your current residence, it probably is okay. Learn about safety BEFORE you play with it. If there is some solder left around from the old days, it probably is lead based. Consider buying a new spool of solder that is less lead-laden. I am guessing the round container has soldering flux. Hopefully the videos you see will explain what it is and why you need to use it. Some solder you can buy nowdays has a flux core.

And. Thanks for asking first. Eyes and fingers are hard to replace.

Likes trickybilly