Metal insulator transition and percolation

In summary, the conversation revolved around the topic of the metal insulator transition using percolation theory. A student was looking for resources on this topic and discovered that it involves doping in semi-conductors to turn them into materials with similar properties to metals. The application of this theory is in low temperature environments to minimize or avoid intrinsic charge carriers. The student also mentioned finding information in the book "Metal Insulator Transition" by Nevill Mott and relating it to hopping conductivity.
JorisL
Hello,

For the past 2 days I've been looking for a resource discussing the metal insulator transition using percolation theory. (The next part treats the Anderson and Mott models)
I'm studying for a course of solid state physics where this is mentioned/summarized.
The problem is that the hand-outs are minimal, at best (ancient slides for an overhead projector that were scanned)

I've found some sources briefly mentioning it but without any reference.

I think I figured out it is about doping in semi-conductors which can turn the semi-conductor in a material with properties similar to metals. The application seems to allude to a low temperature environment as to minimize/avoid intrinsic charge carriers to exist.

Does anybody know of resources talking about this?
Or does anybody think the above reasoning makes sense?

Joris

A little follow up;

Most of what I needed so far could be found in "Metal Insulator Transition" by Nevill Mott.
Percolation theory got somewhat explained when I was reading about (variable range) hopping conductivity in this resource.

1. What is the metal insulator transition?