Microsoft Visual Studio C++ error

In summary, the conversation is about a person who is new to Microsoft Visual Studio and is experiencing confusion with the errors and execution of their first program. The errors they are encountering are not actually errors, but rather messages indicating that their code is up-to-date. The "black" screen appearing and disappearing is due to the program running and closing quickly. To prevent this, the person is advised to add "system("pause");" before the "return 0;" line in their main() function. Alternatively, they can set a debugger breakpoint on the return 0 line, allowing them to examine variables before the program ends.
PaulaS
Hello,

I'm new to Microsoft Visual Studio and new to the C++ program. I just installed the program and I'm trying to write my first program.

First error that I get is: ========== Build: 0 succeeded, 0 failed, 1 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========

Why is my project out-of-date?

Second error: Since my project is out of date, I'm asked if I want to build my project, I click yes.

The 'black' screen appears for a second and then it disappears.

Am I doing something wrong? Can someone help me please?

Thanks a lot for your help

Technology news on Phys.org
First error that I get is: ========== Build: 0 succeeded, 0 failed, 1 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========

That's not an error. It says it's "up-to-date." That just means that you already compiled the code once, and you haven't changed anything, so the executable you built is already up to date.

Second error: Since my project is out of date, I'm asked if I want to build my project, I click yes.

The 'black' screen appears for a second and then it disappears.

Am I doing something wrong? Can someone help me please?

Again, your project is NOT out-of-date. It's up-to-date.