Mind Bending Double-Slit Diffraction Thought Experiment

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of observing an interference pattern in a double slit experiment with photon detectors and transmitters, as long as the detectors are not observed. It also considers the idea of using polarizers to determine if observation of the detectors affects the results. The conversation ends with the suggestion of conducting an experiment with two sets of slides with different polarizations to observe a mixture of interference and consolidation. The feasibility of such an experiment is questioned due to the inherent difficulty in observing particles that are not being observed.
theoligarch dot com
Hi,

I studied undergrad pure maths now post grad philosophy, not quantum physics, but please consider the following experiment:

Suppose you set up a double slits experiment with a photon detector attached to each slit, and the photon detector attached to a photon transmitter, so the photon can contine its journey to the screen.

Now as long as what takes place at each photon detector is not observed, is it not possible for an interference pattern to be observed?

I ask because under the Copenhagen Interpretation, the act of measurment or observation depends on an act of consciousness, yet the act of consciousness, I can argue, only takes place only at the screen if the re-transmitters are unobserved, therefore the wave can still follow both paths until the screen. Recall, an unobserved event, according to quantum lore, has neither happened nor not happened. So I say as long as these re-transmitters are unobserved, they can be thought not to effect the outcome.

On the other hand, if the photon detectors are observed, eg by a signal light which the experimenter observes, then the wavefunction has to collapse and the interference pattern will disappear.

So then do you agree this strage behaviour is indeed possible under the Copenhagen Interpretation?

Many thanks...