Moving the graph to the right -- What do you think?

• Thread starter 0kelvin
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Graph
In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of moving graphs in calculus and the role of equations in relating them. The idea of translating a function with a vector is explained, as well as an example of a traveling wave disturbance on a string. The concept of a composite function is also mentioned in relation to translating graphs. The conversation highlights the importance of understanding these concepts in order to have a deeper understanding of calculus.
0kelvin
I'm studying calculus alone with textbooks. The part about moving the graphs to the right or to the left struck me because they just have a list of rules, properties and make you relate the graph with the corresponding equation. I know what is the rate of change and I thought I could do better than the textbook.

I vectorized this to explain why: f(x - n) moves the parabola to the right.

func_sideways.png

Not satisfied I though. f(x - 2) does remind me of the concept of a composite function. Can I draw something to explain this and relate it to the rate of change?

translation2.png

Likes mcastillo356
Mathematics news on Phys.org
With a graph described with an equation ##f(x,y)=0## given, another graph
[tex]f(x-a,y-b)=0[/tex]
is a translation of that graph with vector (a,b) on x-y plane. For an example say (0,0) is on the original graph, it is translated to (a,b) on the new one.

Last edited:
0kelvin said:
I'm studying calculus alone with textbooks. The part about moving the graphs to the right or to the left struck me because they just have a list of rules, properties and make you relate the graph with the corresponding equation. I know what is the rate of change and I thought I could do better than the textbook.