Multiple Sequential Delayed Choice Experiment

In summary, the conversation discusses an experimental prediction involving quantum physics that leads to strange results. The experiment involves a laser, double slits, splitter crystals, and entangled photons being sent to different locations on Mars and the Moon. The conversation also poses questions about the setup and proposes a more complex experiment that involves transmitting information through the entangled photons. Ultimately, the conversation is trying to understand the strange results and if there is a flaw in the experiment.
knightwing
Hi all;

This goes under the heading of experimental predictions... gone awry. Let me say from the start that I think I've got something wrong, and would have no problem having it pointed out to me. I'm a newbie, and I've been boning up on basic quantum physics phenomena on Youtube, and trying to wrap my brain around it. I recently came up with a thought experiment that gives utterly weird results I don't believe.

Let's start with an extreme version of the "delayed choice experiment".

* Atop a mountain at the north pole of the moon, we have a very strong laser, shining through double slits, with a splitter crystal behind them. The splitter creates entangled photons...
- photons going though slit A are split into an entangled pair; one going to a local CCD-detector and one going just over the north pole of Mars ( I did say this was an extreme version )
- photons going though slit B are split into an entangled pair; one going to a local CCD detector and one going just over the south pole of Mars
- at each Martian pole, there is a detector that can be either retracted into the ground or extended into the beam
- in addition to the laser beam, there's a radio signal beamed to Mars for synchronization purposes, e.g. WWV.