My Chances for these Physics PhD schools

In summary: It's a good idea to get to know your school's guidelines and what kind of relationship you would like to have with your advisor--you can find that out in the admissions office or by talking to current students.It really depends on the advisor and the school.
eternalserv
Greetings, guys!

I'm trying to decide which PhD school I should apply so that my chances of acceptance will be higher. I just received my PGRE score - 910 (85th percentile). However, since I'm an international applicant, I don't know if that is a good score or not. I have a Bachelor's degree in Physics (3.72 GPA) and EE engineering from a greek university and a Master's degree in physics.
GRE: 170 Quant, 152 Verbal, and 3.5 in AW.
I have research experience in quantum sensing, which resulted in publications in Physical Review B, and Physical Review A. On one of them I was a lead author. I'm expecting strong recommendation letters and all of them are research-based letters.
I'm applying mainly to quantum computing and information schools. However, my recent PGRE score gave me doubts about my success.
Here are the universities I decided to apply:

University of Maryland, College Park
University of Southern California,
Washington University in St. Louis
Pittsburgh University
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Dartmouth College
Louisiana State University

One weak point might be that I had to take a gap year after Master's graduation due to family problems, and I'm working as a teacher right now.

How would you evaluate my chances? Should I choose slightly lower ranked schools than these?

Thank you in advance for any feedback!

Physics news on Phys.org