Navigating a Physics vs. EE Degree: Freshman's Concerns

In summary: You can even work on detector physics projects and also on accelerator physics projects. Heck, you could even even do both at the same time if you have the bandwidth. Heck, you could even do both at the same time if you have the bandwidth.The majority of EEs would be working (on the electronics side) on read out boards doing digital system design at the board level and with FPGAs. There are also a good number of EEs working on the detectors themselves in designing new detectors, doing RF systems for the accelerators, power distribution and management and the like.Thanks for all the answers.If you consider job and money you can't be a physicist! :)
sloan13
I am currently an EE student, but I love physics. I want to switch to Physics but am too concerned about the job market. I am only a freshman, and I think I would like EE but would one day want to join with fusion research as a physicist. I know I would need some kind of physics PhD.

The thing keeping me from switching majors is the job market for physicist vs. engineers. I know a lot of PhD physicists end up unemployed or severely underemployed. I think EE is much more safe. I don't want to double major because it would add at least 3 more semesters. Could I go from a BS in EE straight to a PhD physics program or is that not possible. If so, would engineering firms still hire me if I had a PhD in Physics?

Any suggestions are appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
To enter a physics graduate program you are expected to have a physics BS or have taken at least most of the equivalent classwork.

Stick with engineering. Much more stable job opportunities. I would say that all your fears are well founded.

Without an actual engineering degree, engineering firms will shy away from hiring you. Why? Because they can not bill you as an engineer...they have to bill you as an non-engineer which means less profit for you and them.