Network analyzer vs Spectrum analyzer

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of mimicking a network analyzer (NA) with a spectrum analyzer (SA) and a signal generator (SG). However, it is determined that while the SA and SG can provide similar measurements, they cannot fully replicate the capabilities of a NA due to differences in their bandwidth and ability to resolve phase. The conversation also mentions the use of a tracking generator and a directional coupler in some spectrum analyzers for scalar network analysis.
questionner
I'm currently studying the network analyzer(NA) and spectrum analyzer(SA), and one thing makes me wonder;

Would it be possible to 'mimick' a NA with a SA and a signal generator(SG)?

Ofcourse some phase calculations may also be required, but from my naive understanding, if a NA sends various frequencies of signal and sees the amplitude of the incoming signal, similar situation can be simulated using a SA and a SG; we may vary the input signal with SG and record the amplitudes of the received signal with SA.

The latter is ofcourse an inefficient way but.. I have understood the mechanism here, right..? Say if one doesn't have a NA but instead have SA and SG, then he can naively mimick the role of NA with SA and SG?

Likes berkeman
Engineering news on Phys.org
One version of what you are describing is available on some spectrum analyzers that have a "tracking generator" output. Can you find some examples of those? :smile:

Likes davenn
Adding to berkeman, spectrum analyzer + tracking generator provides a "scalar" network analyzer. Only amplitude response is measured.
You mentioned "Of course some phase calculations may also be required", in fact, no phase information can be obtained, so "vector" (phase and amplitude) measurements are not possible.