Newton's Law of Cooling of coffee

In summary, the problem does not provide enough information to solve for the temperature of the coffee 10 minutes later. The equation given requires the initial temperature of the coffee and the temperature of the room, as well as a negative constant k, which cannot be found without more information.
ajr246

Homework Statement

Suppose that a cup of hot coffee at a temperature of 1850 is set down to cool in a room where the temperature is kept at 700. What is the temperature of the coffee 10 minutes later?

Homework Equations

f(t)=(T0 - T1))e-kt + T1
where T0 is the initial temperature of the coffee,
T1 is the temperature of the room,
f(t) is the temperature of the coffee after t minutes,
k is a negative constant

The Attempt at a Solution

I am studying precalculus independently. This problem is from Cohen, Precalculus with Unit-Circle Trigonometry, 4th ed.

The problem statement doesn't seem to give enough data to solve it. I can't figure out how to find k in order to find f(t). Is there a technique I'm not seeing?

I've gotten this far:
f(10)=(185-70)e-k10+70
f(10)=115e-10k+70

Physics news on Phys.org
ajr246 said:

Homework Statement

Suppose that a cup of hot coffee at a temperature of 1850 is set down to cool in a room where the temperature is kept at 700. What is the temperature of the coffee 10 minutes later?

Homework Equations

f(t)=(T0 - T1))e-kt + T1
where T0 is the initial temperature of the coffee,
T1 is the temperature of the room,
f(t) is the temperature of the coffee after t minutes,
k is a negative constant

The Attempt at a Solution

I am studying precalculus independently. This problem is from Cohen, Precalculus with Unit-Circle Trigonometry, 4th ed.

The problem statement doesn't seem to give enough data to solve it. I can't figure out how to find k in order to find f(t). Is there a technique I'm not seeing?

I've gotten this far:
f(10)=(185-70)e-k10+70
f(10)=115e-10k+70