Next step C coding for electrical engineer Stuff

In summary, the conversation revolves around a student's interest in learning coding for hardware, specifically microcontrollers. They have a background in C programming and are looking for resources and advice on how to get started. Some suggestions include familiarizing themselves with programmable logic devices, learning about hardware ports and interrupts, and possibly using a development board. The conversation also touches on the use of libraries and the potential impact on program size.
Weightofananvil
hi,
I'm an electrical engineering student and have studied c programming. Everything I was doing however was just to familiarize myself with c and the language, therefore just executable programs that could create a database, or make an array or data to programs that aided me like a resistor color band program or math performing applications. you know, new guy stuff.

I know the next step in my education is learning microcontrollers and eventually a pic controller or similar based platform. I want to get a head start on programming for hardware. I've been playing with arduino for a few year and have coded small projects (not easily at all) and I can understand most code I've used for larger scale projects. However I know I could not have processed the code myself.

Where can I find specific information/tutorials on coding for hardware?

I know obviously practicing is the way to learn but I just don't know where to look to get the basics.

in elec engineering is c++ used ? Would a better idea be to start learning c++?

any books, webpages, videos. Etc much appreciated...

Thanks

Technology news on Phys.org
...Where can I find specific information/tutorials on coding for hardware?...
I would definitely start to learn about programmable logic devices if I were you.