No storm on Earth lasts like the one on Jupiter

In summary, the conversation discusses the energy source of the storm on Jupiter and whether it takes its energy from smaller storms on the planet or from an external source like the sun. It is concluded that the storm is most likely powered by the immense heat from the planet's core, which radiates energy from its original formation. The wind patterns on Jupiter are also compared to those on Earth, showing that they are driven by convection on a rotating body. The conversation also notes that there is not much water or water vapor on Jupiter, as it is mostly made up of hydrogen and helium.
DaxInvader
Hi! I'm new to Physics Forums and even thought i can't say I know much, I'm interrested at learnig new things. I'm also doing my best to practice my english. I've read you rules and trying to get familiar with them..

Here it goes.

I have a question I hope to post in the right Sub-Forum... We all know that energy itself is not created.. But transmitted. I've heard a report on CBC radio on Jupiter. We all know the big strom on it that's looks like an eye.. But where does it takes his energy from? No strom on Earth lasts like the one on Jupiter.. I thought that the "Big eye" steals (in a manner of speaking) energy on the thousands other little storms on the planet. Is it a resonable explanation? I mean if so, My question becomes.. Where does the little storms energy comes from? On Earth.. Most of it comes from the Sun.. Friction between clouds and many other things...

Oh well I hope you Understand my ideas

Astronomy news on Phys.org
My understanding: Yes, the storm (2D) takes its energy from smaller storms (whereas in 3D it works the other way, "..so on to viscosity").

And the little storms' energy? Why would that be different than on Earth?