Novice's Question on Spontaneous SUSY Breaking & Goldstinos

In summary, the conversation is discussing the proof of a statement about the existence of a massless particle when one of the auxiliary fields' VEVs is not zero. The vector G is proportional to the goldstino wave function, and this is necessary for the Goldstino to remain massless. The conversation then moves on to discussing the proof of this statement, with one participant suggesting that it may be a true statement but they are unsure how to prove it. Another participant suggests that it is clear that the operator m_F G, which is equivalent to 0, is the definition of a massless Goldstino. However, one participant points out that this is not clear to them as m_F G is not a matrix. The
SmalltownBoy
I'm a novice in SUSY and I'v got a question concerning spontaneous supersymmetry breaking and goldstinos. In Martin's review on page 68 there is a proof of a statement about existence of massless particle when one of ##F_i##'s or ##D_a##'s VEV is not zero. The thing I don't get is why vector ##\tilde{G}## is proportional to goldstino wave function. I guess that it means that after diagonalization of ##m_F## there is a field ##\Psi = \sum F_i \, \Psi_i + \sum D_a \, \lambda_a##, that corresponds to zero eigenvalue of ##m_F##. Is it correct? If so, could you please give any hints of proof of this statement.

Physics news on Phys.org
Well, if I understand your question, the vector [itex]G[/itex] has by definition zero mass eigenvalues, so it's a massless field.
This can be written as [itex]m_F G = 0 \times G [/itex].
As he states the [itex]G[/itex] is non-trivial only if the vevs are non-zero (so you have the symmetry breaking and thus the Nambu Goldstone field).

Last edited:
ChrisVer said:
Well, if I understand your question, the vector [itex]G[/itex] has by definition zero mass eigenvalues, so it's a massless field.
This can be written as [itex]m_F G = 0 \times G [/itex].