Numerical Simulations with Mathematica: A Beginner's Guide

In summary, the user is a beginner in Mathematica and wants to plot a theoretical calculation using the software. They initially thought they could just input a domain and let Mathematica do the rest, but they were incorrect. The expert suggests using the Plot command and specifying the function, variable, and range. The user also asks if this is a common tool used by researchers and if it is as easy as it seems.
shinobi20
I'm very new to Mathematica/programming and I want to do a theoretical calculation using Mathematica,
suppose I have,

##Y=CX,~~~C=constant##

Now, I want to plot Y vs. X but X should run at every point since every point is a solution for Y, how should I do this? Before, I was thinking maybe I could just give the domain (i.e. from 0 to 100 with interval 1) and then just let Mathematica do it, but I was wrong since Mathematica should calculate the value of Y for a certain X for one round then input another point then run again, etc.

Background:
* I'm really a beginner, I can just do the basic stuff in Mathematica (arithmetic, calculus, etc)
* Hands on start to mathematica (Wolfram website)
* Mathematica: A Problem Centered Approach by Roozbeh Hazrat (https://www.amazon.com/dp/1849962502/?tag=pfamazon01-20)

I will appreciate any advice on how to continue in this situation.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
shinobi20 said:
Before, I was thinking maybe I could just give the domain (i.e. from 0 to 100 with interval 1) and then just let Mathematica do it, but I was wrong since Mathematica should calculate the value of Y for a certain X for one round then input another point then run again, etc.
With Mathematica's Plot command you need only specify the function to plot, the variable, and the variable's range. Mathematica will do the rest.

Plot[C X, {X,0,100}]

Of course, C will need to have a value for this to work.

Orodruin said: