Optical Probe Clarity: Examining Power Loss vs. Beam Spot

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of laser probes in a lab for testing vibration and other data. The speaker is working on creating a signal power budget for each probe by calculating power loss using a laser source and detector. They believe this is a better option than simply looking at the beam spot. The safety class of the laser is mentioned to be 3B.
daniel1211
I work in a lab that uses laser probes to test for vibration and other data, currently the lab techs hook up the probe to a laser source and check to see how bright and clear the beam spot is. I have been working on having a signal power budget created for each probe using a laser source and detector and calculating the probes power loss in dBm and dB.

Am I wrong in believing this is a better option then just looking at the beam spot?

Engineering news on Phys.org
daniel1211 said:
I work in a lab that uses laser probes to test for vibration and other data, currently the lab techs hook up the probe to a laser source and check to see how bright and clear the beam spot is. I have been working on having a signal power budget created for each probe using a laser source and detector and calculating the probes power loss in dBm and dB.

Am I wrong in believing this is a better option then just looking at the beam spot?
What is the safety class of the laser?

Class 3B

1. What is an optical probe?

An optical probe is a tool used in scientific research and testing to measure various properties of light, such as intensity, polarization, and wavelength. It consists of a light source, a detector, and a means of controlling the light beam, such as lenses or mirrors.

2. How does an optical probe work?