Optics cornu spiral and diffraction

In summary, the conversation revolves around using the Cornu Spiral to solve a problem involving Fresnel diffraction. The problem involves finding the irradiance of the diffraction pattern at a certain distance using a specific wavelength of light. The person is struggling to understand how to use the Cornu Spiral and is seeking help online and from their textbook. They are unsure of where to start and suggest using the positions of the minima to assist with scaling the spiral. The conversation ends with a suggestion to use computer programs like Mathematica to solve the problem more easily.
lazytofindname
Hi, i am in second year of university and doing optics
I have a questions in one ofmy assignment :

Fresnel diffraction is observed behind a wire 0.37 mm thick, which is placed 2 m from the light source and 3 m from the observation screen. If the light of wavelength 630 nm is used, find, using Cornu spiral, the irradiance of the diffraction pattern at the screen on the axis. Express the answer as some number times unobstructed irradiance.

The problem is I have no idea out to use the cornu spiral, i looked everywhere online and nobody really explains it
In my textbook they don't really explain it either
I know I'm supposed to put the beginning of my work but i don't know where to start
I think I'm supposed to find the variable u and plot in on the spiral but it doesn't make any sense for me..

Science news on Phys.org
Whilst I can't claim to have tried it, the description of using the Cornu Spiral seems to be reasonably clear in this link.
It does seem to show how to work out the resultant vector from all contributions of elements around an edge, using the spiral curve. Hope it helps. At least you could read through it and it may help a bit.