Over what field I'm going to choose

In summary, it is important to choose a balanced set of courses that will provide a strong foundation in various areas of physics, rather than focusing on a specific field for potential job opportunities. Courses in subjects like statistical mechanics are essential for a well-rounded education in physics.
Baris Kalfa
Hello dear members,
I couldn't figure out whether I should post this in the academic guidance or career guidance section, yet the latter sounded more convenient for my situation. I have also seen many similar threads but I believe everybody has different thoughts& aspirations as we all know, physics is a vast subject.

I'm a 1st year undergraduate Physics&Astrophysics student (Bologna system) in the University of Nova Gorica (Slovenia). I agree that it's early for me to make decisions about which field of physics I'm going to specialize in as I'm quite new to the academia. However, I'll have to choose my elective subjects in the next academic year which will be hugely advantageous if I choose the right ones. I am in a dilemma about it since a novice like me doesn't know what each field has to offer me in terms of academic career or private sector opportunities. And of course, It'd be the wisest to choose what I love working on, but here comes the problem; I do not know what I particularly love doing in physics. I joined this school because I wanted to become a physicist in general. So, I'll be writing a few key points about me and prepare a few questions.