$\phi^4$ in $4 - \epsilon$ dimension renormalization beta function

In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of renormalization group and beta functions. The speaker is seeking feedback and clarification on their understanding of the beta function and its application in dimensional regularization and momentum cut-off schemes. They also mention a chapter on perturbative RG in their notes and express difficulty in understanding the physical picture and implications of the Wilson Fisher fixed point and running couplings. Overall, the conversation highlights the complexities and challenges of understanding and applying renormalization group techniques in quantum field theory.
paralleltransport
TL;DR Summary
I'd like to check my personal understanding of renormalization group and beta function.
Hi all,

I am currently studying renormalization group and beta functions. Since I'm not in school there is no one to fix my mis-understandings if any, so I'd really appreciate some feedback.

PART I:

I wrote this short summary of what I understand of the beta function:
1635740724986.png

Is this reasoning correct? Are there fine points that I am missing that needs refinement?PARTII:

The scheme presented above uses dimensional regularization to extract the divergent counterterms. It is a bit physically hard to visualize. When I use a momentum cut-off scheme, I feel like taking the derivative of the counter-term with respect to the logΛ, the momentum cut-off should give me the beta function (up to a sign). I'm not sure how to motivate this. If there's a text that does extract RG beta function in this perspective it would help.

Thank you.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Hi vanhess, thank you for the notes. The details in the notes are worked in pretty gory details, however I'm having difficulties understanding the physical picture being emphasized here.