PIC Microcontrollers: problem with LCD module (see below)

In summary: Turns out that in my code I was not initializing the display correctly. Once I fixed that it worked fine.
thegreengineer
Good morning people. Recently I started programming in assembly language my PIC16F877A. Success. Now I wanted to work with a LCD display (more specifically a 16x2 LM016 display). At first I did not know the commands until I saw a datasheet and this page:

http://www.8051projects.net/lcd-interfacing/commands.php

I want to set my LCD in 8 bit (1 byte) mode. So I created a .INC file using Notepad with basic instructions:
Code:
 #DEFINE DB PORTD
 #DEFINE E PORTB,RB3
 #DEFINE RW PORTB,RB2
 #DEFINE RS PORTB,RB1

lcd_set ;8 bit, 2 row 5x7 dots size of characters
 bcf RS
 bcf RW
 movlw D'56'
 call lcd_escribe
 return

lcd_off ;Turns off the LCD, turns off cursor and turns off blinking
 bcf RS
 bcf RW 
 movlw D'8'
 call lcd_escribe
 return

lcd_borra ;Erases LCD content as well as the DDRAM content
 bcf RS
 bcf RW
 movlw D'1'
 call lcd_escribe
 return

lcd_incrementa ;Entry mode
 bcf RS
 bcf RW
 movlw D'6'
 call lcd_escribe
 return

lcd_escribe ;This writes the data from PORTD to the Data Bus of the LCD in form of 1 byte (8 bits)
 bsf E
 movwf DB
 bcf E
 call retardo_100ms
 return

lcd_inicializa ;Initialize the LCD
 bcf E
 bcf RW
 bcf RS
 call retardo_20ms
 call lcd_set
 call retardo_5ms
 call lcd_set
 call retardo_150us
 call lcd_set
 call retardo_5ms
 call lcd_set
 call retardo_60us
 call lcd_off
 call retardo_60us
 call lcd_borra
 call retardo_60us
 call lcd_incrementa
 return

lcd_caracter ;Writing a character in the LCD
 bsf RS
 bcf RW
 call lcd_escribe
 return
This is my circuit in PROTEUS.

22688792_1981809168770284_2622245964249564251_n.jpg