PID loops or Complementary filter for University project?

In summary: But in summary, the conversation was about the practical differential equations project for the "maths III" course in the university. The project involves describing a practical system that uses differential equations, and the options discussed were PID loops and using a low or high pass filter to combine IMU data. The conversation also touched upon designing a more complex controller for the DC motor and using a motor controller with a transfer function. The conversation also mentioned using root locus to predict stability and solving differential equations using Laplace transforms.
Jarfi
I am studying "maths III" in my university. And the course has this project you have to do called "Practical differential equations". You are basically supposed to describe some practical system that uses differential equations.

My thought was PID loops, but I'm not sure if they use differential equations? I really wanted to use them though because I have used them before in a DIY project, although they use integrals and derivatives I'm not sure there is a differential equation.

My second possibility was using a low or high pass filter, or even a khalmann filter. In regards to combining IMU data(gyro and accelerometer) to form angle measurments. But I don't quite remember a solid differential equation from there, just a lot of usage of integrals and derivatives.

I need at least one differential equation used, preferably some of the more complex ones, like Laplace transforms or the delta functions, or something like Linear differential equations. I'm basically not sure weather PID loops cut the criteria. The System I planned on using for the PID loop was a DC motor controlling a simple raft with another object on it, this DC motor controlled the placement of the raft using a PID loop to regulate the current or force used to push this raft

Thank you in advance,
-Jarfi

Engineering news on Phys.org
Jarfi said: