Practical Applications of Magnetic Monopoles: Possibilities and Limitations

• Thread starter maine75man
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Practical
In summary, the conversation is about the existence and potential uses of magnetic monopoles. The participants discuss the current understanding of monopoles, the possibility of creating or harvesting them, and the implications for larger theories. They also mention a paper about a potential discovery of a monopole-like behavior in the spin-ice system. The conversation ends with a request for a link to the paper for further discussion.
maine75man
I'm not a professional in any scientific field just an avid consumer of popular science writing. I ran into a mention of magnetic monopoles awhile back and have been trying to dig up the answer to a few questions. Thus far I have failed so I decided to ask here.

OK I understand magnetic monopoles are still in the 'Could/should exist but we haven't found them yet.' category. I also understand that if they are discovered they will confirm certain ideas of some larger theories.

What I'm wondering first is there any idea what sort of matter could be a monopole. Would they be limited to subatomic particles or could there be elements or compounds that are made up of monopoles

Second if monopoles are discovered and they can be created/harvested in "useful" quantities, what practical uses could we find for them?

Physics news on Phys.org
maine75man said:
OK I understand magnetic monopoles are still in the 'Could/should exist but we haven't found them yet.' category.

No, they are in the "we have no evidence for any of them, no good reason for them to be there, and would be very surprised if we found them" category.

Vanadium 50 said:
No, they are in the "we have no evidence for any of them, no good reason for them to be there, and would be very surprised if we found them" category.