Probability of getting specific states -- Quantum Mechanics

In summary: So, you cannot determine the probabilities without knowing the state.Yes, it doesn't give you the information about the state. So, you cannot determine the probabilities without knowing the state.In summary, the conversation discusses a 4x4 Hamiltonian with eigenkets and the probabilities of an electron being in different states. However, without knowing the state of the electron, it is not possible to determine the probabilities of it being in specific states.
Thomas Brady
I'm pretty new to quantum, so I'm pretty sure I'm missing something basic here. I've got a 4x4 Hamiltonian with eigenkets $$\psi_{U} = 1/(\sqrt 2) (\psi_{1up} \pm \psi_{2up})$$ and $$\psi_{D} = 1/(\sqrt 2) (\psi_{1down} \pm \psi_{2down})$$ The only difference between the two states is the spin as signified by the subscripts up (U) and down (D). The plus states have the eigenvalue ##E_0 - t## and the minus states have the eigenvalue ##E_0 + t##. Knowing this, how can I say what the probability is of an electron being in any of the ##\psi_{1up}##, ##\psi_{1down}##, ##\psi_{2up}##, and ##\psi_{2down}## states, without knowing the probability it is in ##\psi_{U}## or ##\psi_{D}##?

Just to be clear there are of course 4 eigenkets, but the difference between each of the plus and minus eigenkets is the spin

Physics news on Phys.org
Thomas Brady said:
Knowing this, how can I say what the probability is of an electron being in any of the ψ1up\psi_{1up}, ψ1down\psi_{1down}, ψ2up\psi_{2up}, and ψ2down\psi_{2down} states, without knowing the probability it is in ψU\psi_{U} or ψD\psi_{D}?