Programming: a Book or Practicing Only?

In summary: OOP program. I think that you'll be a better programmer if you can learn to read and understand code from multiple different paradigms, because that's how you'll be able to find the best solution to the problem at hand.
CDTOE
Hi, Everybody

I'm an electrical engineering student who has been doing Java programming for a while. I have started learning OOP directly from practicing, mostly using youtube tutorials, without getting into theories or concepts before. Lately, I have thought to start reading a book about OOP in an attempt to get a deeper understanding of the concepts behind programming and especially OOP.

I'm not learning OOP and programming, in general, only to contribute to my discipline, but also as a hobby. I have a vision to learn other languages, such as HTML, CSS, php... so on. For this I want to ask, is it really necessary to read a book abut OOP, or any programming paradigm/language, to be a good programmer? or is practicing more important and enough to do well?

Thanks.

Technology news on Phys.org
Well...I don't know about you, but I had been a programmer for a while BEFORE I wanted to learn OOP...not being a CS major but an EE (me too) I was able to follow OOP examples and write an entire OOP program...but I had the feeling and wasn't really getting, so, I audit an OOP class and realized I REALLY wasn't getting it.

So, I think there are quite a few important concepts you REALLY need to study to fully understand and effectively use OOP...inheritance, encapsulation, etc.

Other than that, as an engineer, I would recommend learning Python...it's got a lot of modules and tools for engineering/scientific work...I have no use for HTML, CSS, PHP...that's web development stuff...

my 2cents

For me, I didn't need any assistance about changing languages.
The concept is the same everywhere...