Programming newbie trying to learn C

• Thread starter rtmich224
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Programming
In summary: That is what I did and it worked out really well for me.In my opinion one should start with K&R, then move on to Expert C Programming: Deep C Secrets, and then use C: A Reference Manual as just that.
rtmich224
I have no background knowledge of any computer language whatsoever. I have been following several online beginner tutorials in C and want to continue learning the language. I am using Xcode as a compiler.
I have ordered "Learn C on the Mac: For OS X and iOS"
David Mark (Author), James Bucanek (Author), and am wondering if this is a good starting point. I plan on taking a class (C++ is offered not C) but that will be several months out.

Is anyone familiar with the book I ordered and can anyone recommend some good books or starting points? Possibly a book to use in conjunction with what I already ordered to make things a little easier? Thanks

Technology news on Phys.org
There is only one book about C, K&R.

Borek said:
There is only one book about C, K&R.

+1 on that.

The only problem with K&R is the prerequisite. You don't need to know anything about computer programming, but you do have to know how to read accurately. It isn't written on the principle that a thousand woolly words are easier to understand than one precise one.

If you want more examples to go with K&R, get "Software tools" by Kernighan and Plauger.

AlephZero said:
The only problem with K&R is the prerequisite. You don't need to know anything about computer programming, but you do have to know how to read accurately. It isn't written on the principle that a thousand woolly words are easier to understand than one precise one.

If you want more examples to go with K&R, get "Software tools" by Kernighan and Plauger.

can you elaborate on this in simpler/layman terms? Thank you

Ryan